Faith Wilding: "Waiting With" (2008), Performance. Video: Anne Quirynen

Faith Wilding (Paraguay, USA *1943)

Faith Wilding emigrated from Paraguay to the USA in 1961. She studied and worked with Judy Chicago and was part of the Feminist Art Program and Womanhouse in Los Angeles in the early 1970s. Till this day, she refuses to limit herself to a single artistic medium, and she continues to expand and develop the formal structures of her art. Her works are textile sculptures, performance, new media and critical discourses that explore social problems and issues. Faith Wilding is a faculty member, advisor and the Chair of the Performance Department of the School of the Art Institute in Chicago.

A 15-minute monolog, scripted and performed by Faith Wilding in the Performance program at Womanhouse, "Waiting" condenses a woman's entire life into a monotonous, repetitive cycle of waiting for life to begin while she is serving and maintaining the lives of others. Faith Wilding re-enacted this iconographic performance from the 1970s in 2007. She performed it again for re.act.feminism on 23 January 2009.

wilding - waiting

Faith Wilding: "Waiting". image copyright Faith Wilding

Waiting With
Performance by Faith Wilding USA

Faith Wilding’s performance Waiting is an icon of feminist performance art. Her photograph has been reproduced all over the world in countless publications, but the performance’s spoken text and video documentation are relatively little known. For re.act.feminism, Faith Wilding wrote a new text to accompany the documentary of the original performance. In the text, she describes waiting as an act of resistance, reflection and refusal.

wilding - waiting

Faith Wilding: "Waiting With" (2008) Photograph: Jan Stradtmann


In the Video Archive:

"Waiting", 1972, 15:00min.

In the Performance Programme:

"Waiting With", 2008, Performance.


Faith Wilding Website

english
einleitung
ausstellung
videoarchiv
tagung
artists
about
links

The player will show in this paragraph

Faith Wilding: "Waiting With" (2008), Performance. Video: Anne Quirynen

Faith Wilding (Paraguay, USA *1943)

Als Studentin und Mitarbeiterin von Judy Chicago war die erst 1961 aus Paraguay in die USA emigrierte Faith Wilding Anfang der 1970er Jahre eng mit der Entwicklung des Feminist Art Program und des Womanhouse in Los Angeles verbunden. Bis heute hat sie sich keinem spezifischen Medium verpflichtet und entwickelt die formalen Strukturen ihrer Arbeiten jeweils neu: von der textilen Skulptur über Performance, Neue Technologien bis zu kritischen Diskursen steht die thematische Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlichen Problematiken im Vordergrund. Faith Wilding ist Dekanin des Performance Departement der School of the Art Institute Chicago.

"Waiting" ist ein Monolog, den Faith Wilding im Performance-Programm des Womanhouse entwickelte und aufführte. Darin kondensiert sie das gesamte Leben einer Frau in einen monotonen Zyklus des Wartens auf den Beginn des eigentlichen Lebens, w√§hrend sie andere bedient. Diese ikonografische Performance der 1970er Jahre hat sie 2007 neu bearbeitet und in aktualisierter Form wiederaufgeführt. Sie war im Performance-Programm von re.act.feminism am 23. Januar 2009 zu sehen.

wilding - waiting

Faith Wilding: "Waiting". image copyright Faith Wilding

Waiting With
Performance von Faith Wilding USA

Faith Wildings Performance Waiting ist eine Ikone der feministischen Performancekunst. Als Foto wurde sie in weltweit in unzähligen Publikationen reproduziert, während der während der Performance gesprochene Text und die Videodokumentation hingegen wenig bekannt sind. Im Rahmen von re.act.feminism formuliert Faith Wilding vor der filmischen Dokumentation ihrer damaligen Performance einen neuen Text, in dem sie das Warten als einen Akt von Widerstand, Reflektion und Verweigerung beschreibt.

wilding - waiting

Faith Wilding: "Waiting With" (2008). Foto: Jan Stradtmann

 

Im Videoarchiv:

"Waiting", 1972, 15:00min.


Im Performanceprogramm:

"Waiting With", 2008, Performance.


Links:

Faith Wilding Website